National Honor Society inductions

| November 15, 2013

High School - eSolNews 5-13Congratulations to the following Solanco High School students who were inducted into the National Honor Society on Tuesday:
Carly Allport, Seana Armstrong, Maribeth Ault, Tiffany Barton, Matthew Beu, Cole Boxleitner, Noah Brady, Abigail Breckbill, Alyse Crandall, Emily Dingel, Jordyn Ewaka, Robert Fryberger, Marcus Hart, Amanda Herr, Morgan Hodson, Travis Hoover, James Howell, Sarah Irwin, Krystal Landis, Madison Lasko, Brooke McCardell, Erica McCauley, Bree Miller, Donna Montgomery, Morgan Myer, Gabrielle Redcay, Shawn Spiller, Moriah Stanton, Kenneth Walton, Joshua Wolf.
The National Honor Society requires students to meet criteria for four pillars: scholarship, character, leadership and service.
To insure that all members meet these standards, students must have a cumulative GPA of 3.5 and be recommended by at least five teachers to be invited to submit an application for membership. The application is their opportunity to show they have the required remaining pillars of NHS leadership and service. This is done by listing the work they have done in these areas and providing a recommendation by a non-family member who can attest to their statements. According to Schell, students must also have two recommendations from Solanco High School faculty. Once submitted, all names are removed to ensure an unbiased review done by a faculty council using a rubric. All students who meet the criteria are then invited to join and become part of the varied activities of the NHS.

Category: Featured Stories, High School News

About the Author ()

Keith Kaufman is the Director of Community Relations for Solanco School District. 786-5617.

Comments are closed.