Golf tournament August 7 will support Solanco students and teachers

| June 17, 2020

Local golfers are invited to tee it up in support of Solanco students and teachers during a tournament on Friday, August 7 at Tanglewood Manor Golf Club in Quarryville. The Solanco Education Foundation will use proceeds to fund $1,000 college scholarships to graduating seniors, and academic venture grants which enable teachers to implement innovative educational programs in their classrooms.

Registration at Tanglewood on August 7 will begin at 12 noon, the golf tournament will tee off at 1 p.m. (scramble format), followed by the awarding of prizes and dinner. Registration is $75 per golfer and $300 per team. Safety measures that will not detract from our enjoyment, including social distancing in golf carts, on the course, and during the meal, will be in place to protect each of us and all staff at Tanglewood.

Local businesses and individuals are providing generous platinum ($1,000), gold ($500), silver ($250) and hole ($150) sponsorships. Mail golf registration and/or sponsorship checks to Solanco Education Foundation, 121 South Hess Street, Quarryville, PA 17566. Call 786-5617, or email Keith Kaufman with questions.

The Solanco Education Foundation has awarded $1,000 scholarships to the following members of the Solanco Class of 2020: Caroline Arrowsmith (Penn State University), Jenna Bleacher (York College or Millersville University), Michaela Brenneman (Alvernia University), Gabrielle Dolan (Hood College), Jenna Dombach (Lancaster Bible College), Nathan Eller (Gettysburg College), Jack Hertzler (Lehigh University), Rachel Johnson (Messiah College), Jessica Richardson (Millersville University, Alexander Buitron-Zavala (Millersville University), and Nathanael Neuhauser (Pittsburgh Institute of Aeronautics).

The mission of the Solanco Education Foundation is to inspire greater academic achievement in the Solanco School District by working with the community to generate funding which provides students and teachers with innovative, exciting and creative educational programs and opportunities.

Board of Directors:

President:              Tom Brackbill
Vice President:     Dr. Jon Rednak
Treasurer:              Bill Musser
Secretary:              Kathy Eberly
Executive Director:  Keith Kaufman*

Larry Albright
Jane Ausel
Fan Bender
Bill Coble
Cindy Coble
Julie DuvallKristina Groff
Tyler McCardell
Donna Railing
Brenda Roark
John Waggoner
Becky Guhl*
*non-voting member

Category: Community Happenings

About the Author ()

Keith Kaufman is the Director of Community Relations for Solanco School District. 786-5617.

Comments are closed.