Students earn Scholastic Writing Awards

| February 5, 2020

Scholastic Writing1

Front row: Teresa Mills, Skylar Steely, Anna Kreider. Back row:  Josh Pope, Kara Armstrong, Matthew Mentz, Brandon Daniel, Guy Glowitz, Mercedes Nadal, Lance Workman. (not pictured: Alexander Weaver)

Eleven Solanco High School students have been honored for their literary excellence. They have been selected to receive distinguished Scholastic Writing Awards.

Brandon Daniel and Matthew Mentz have been chosen for prestigious Gold Key Awards, and their works are automatically entered for the national awards competition.

Other talented student writers earned Silver Key and Honorable Mention awards for their impressive pieces.

Following are the winners, their awards, information about their works, and their teachers:

Student Name Award Genre Title of piece Teacher
Kara Armstrong Honorable Mention Short Story Graffiti and Other Letters to Society Christy Witmer
Kara Armstrong Silver Key Science Fiction/Science Fantasy The Humanity Project Christy Witmer
Brandon Daniel Gold Key Critical Essay The Complexity of Superman Jessica Prokay
Guy Glowitz Honorable Mention Poetry The Emancipation of John Doe Jessica Prokay
Anna Kreider Silver Key Personal Essay/Memoir Why Adoption is Important Christy Witmer
Matthew Mentz Gold Key Science Fiction/Science Fiction The Last Stand of Lord Frakoonis Leslie McRobbie
Teresa Mills Honorable Mention Flash Fiction Before the Battle of Eridth Christy Witmer
Mercedes Nadal Honorable Mention Flash Fiction From her Eyes Jessica Prokay
Josh Pope Honorable Mention Short Story The Horizon of Yesterday Christy Witmer
Skylar Steely Honorable Mention Short Story UNOS Christy Witmer
Alexander Weaver Honorable Mention Poetry The Next Chapter Christy Witmer
Lance Workman Honorable Mention Poetry A Collection of Poems Leslie McRobbie

Category: Featured Stories, High School News

About the Author ()

Keith Kaufman is the Director of Community Relations for Solanco School District. 786-5617.

Comments are closed.