Golf tournament Aug. 17 will support students and teachers

| June 25, 2018

SEF - Golf, drive 2  9-14WEBLocal golfers are invited to tee it up in support of Solanco students and teachers during a tournament on Friday, August 17 at Tanglewood Manor Golf Club in Quarryville. The Solanco Education Foundation will use proceeds to fund $1,000 college scholarships to graduating seniors, academic venture grants which enable teachers to implement innovative educational programs in their classrooms, “Baggie Books” for kindergarten and first grade students, and to help fund other important educational programs in Solanco.

Registration at Tanglewood on August 17 will begin at 12 noon, the golf tournament will tee off at 1 p.m. (scramble format), followed by a delicious dinner, the awarding of prizes, and sponsor recognition. Early-bird registration prior to August 10 is $90 per golfer and $360 per team; registration after August 10 is $100 per golfer and $400 per team. Mail checks to Solanco Education Foundation, 121 South Hess Street, Quarryville, PA 17566. Call 786-5617, or email, with questions.

In addition to prizes for the first, second and third place teams with the lowest team scores, the tournament will feature two par three closest to the pin contests with cash prizes, and a 50/50 putting contest. Tanglewood is well known for its exceptional food, and dinner will include fried chicken, macaroni and potato salad, chips, pretzels, drinks and dessert.

Local businesses and individuals are providing generous platinum ($1,000), gold ($500) and hole ($150) sponsorships. Mail golf registration and/or sponsorship checks to Solanco Education Foundation, 121 South Hess Street, Quarryville, PA 17566. Call 786-5617, or email, with questions.

The Solanco Education Foundation has awarded $1,000 scholarships to the following members of the Solanco Class of 2017: Denise Brenneman (Pennsylvania College of Health Sciences), Kayla Brown (Covenant College), Emily Duvall (West Chester University), Jenevieve Eberly (Moravian College), Cortney Johnson (Kenyan College), Alexis Kanuha (Pennsylvania College of Health Sciences), Amber Kirk (Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology), Amanda McCoy (Richmond the American International University in London), Daniel Siegrist (Penn State or Georgia Tech), Hanna Welk (Penn State) and Marissa Witmer (Franklin & Marshall).

The mission of the Solanco Education Foundation is to inspire greater academic achievement in the Solanco School District by working with the community to generate funding which provides students and teachers with innovative, exciting and creative educational programs and opportunities.

Board of Directors:

President:    Tom Brackbill
Treasurer:    William Musser
Secretary:     Kathy Eberly
Larry Albright
Fan Bender
Susan Broomell
Bill Coble
Cindy Coble
Julie Duvall
Steve Mitchell
Dr. Jon Rednak
Brenda Roark
Patty Wilds
Executive Director:  Keith Kaufman*
Sandy Tucker*
Becky Guhl*
* non-voting member

Category: Community Happenings, Featured Stories

About the Author ()

Keith Kaufman is the Director of Community Relations for Solanco School District. 786-5617.

Comments are closed.