Three inducted into Distinguished Teacher program

| August 22, 2017

Distinguished Teachers Aug 2017WEBThree outstanding teachers in the Solanco School District – Stephanie Wood, Caley Roark and Leslie McRobbie - have been inducted into the district’s special Distinguished Teacher program. Distinguished Teachers is a prestigious award that honors teachers’ instructional excellence, extraordinary success working with students, and professional leadership. Wood, Roark and McRobbie officially received their Distinguished Teacher awards at the Solanco School Board meeting on Monday, August 21. “They are joining an elite group of educators who have earned recognition as Distinguished Teachers,” Solanco Assistant Superintendent Dr. Robert Dangler said. “They have had a positive impact on thousands of our students.”

  • Stephanie Wood:  Swift Middle School English teacher. “I am humbled by the recognition of distinguished teacher. I am motivated by the passion I have for my subject area, the wonderful colleagues I work with and the fantastic students I teach. I am honored to receive this award.” Wood is a 2000 Solanco High School graduate, and a Millersville University graduate. She became a teacher at Solanco in 2008, after teaching at Pequea Valley and Cocalico high schools. At Solanco, she has taught at the high school, Smith Middle School, and Swift Middle School. Wood earned a Master’s Degree in Educational Leadership and Strategies from Wilkes University, and is currently enrolled in a Reading Specialist program at Millersville University.
  • Caley Roark:  Solanco High School Teacher of the Gifted.  “I am honored and humbled to have been nominated and selected as a Distinguished Teacher, but any personal success is largely due to positive influence from the people around me. I’d like to recognize the guidance I have received from former special education director Sally Metz, former band director Gary Doll, and coaching partner John Girvin. My wife Melissa, and parents Brenda and Virgil, also provide endless support and deserve a lot of credit for any good I do.” Roark has been a teacher for 16 years, including 13 at Solanco. He graduated from Solanco in 1997, and earned a Bachelor’s Degree in Music Education from West Chester University, a Master’s Degree in Sports Management and Education at Millersville University, and a certificate in gifted education from the University of Connecticut.
  • Leslie McRobbie:  Solanco High School English teacher. “I am incredibly honored to have been selected as a Distinguished Teacher for the Solanco School District. My 10 years of teaching at Solanco have been the most rewarding years of my life. I have been blessed with the best students, staff, and community any teacher could hope for and am humbled by this recognition.” McRobbie is the lead teacher of the English department. She also created and operates Renee’s Closet and Dapper Dan’s at the high school, a service that provides free formal wear for students for homecoming, prom and other events. Prior to being hired by the district in 2007, she was a student teacher at Solanco, and earned a Bachelor’s Degree in Education at Millersville University. She received a Master’s Degree in Education from Walden University.

Teachers new to the Solanco School District for the 2017-2018 school year were in attendance for the induction of Distinguished Teachers at the school board meeting. Teachers identified as Distinguished Teachers serve in various types of mentorship roles for young and new instructors.

The teachers have received a Solanco jacket and their portraits will be displayed in the Solanco Administrative Office.

Eligibility requirements for the Distinguished Teacher award include a Master’s Degree, level II or permanent certification, and ten years in education, with at least three years in the Solanco School District. Teachers are nominated for the award by their colleagues or the principal of their school. Of the nominated teachers, no more than six, three elementary and three secondary teachers, may be selected at a time. Teachers who are nominated for the award must complete an application to be considered for selection as a Distinguished Teacher. The district’s supervision committee chooses a selection committee, consisting of teachers and administrators, to review the applications and guidelines in selecting teachers to be honored as Distinguished Teachers.

Previous recipients of the Distinguished Teacher awards are Rebecca Gajecki, Principal, Quarryville Elementary School (Instructional technology coach at the time of her nomination and selection to Distinguished Teachers. Carrie Falduts, health and physical education teacher at George A. Smith Middle School. Matt Reiprich, second grade teacher at Providence Elementary. Sara Parrish, learning support teacher at Smith Middle School. Cynthia Sangrey, social studies teacher at Smith Middle School. Richard Croyle, music teacher at Solanco High School; Karen Gagliardi, music teacher at George A. Smith Middle School; Yvonne McLaughlin, kindergarten teacher at Clermont Elementary; Donna Railing, 4th grade teacher at Bart-Colerain Elementary; Sheila Schmitt, 5th grade teacher at Bart-Colerain Elementary; Kathy Croyle, reading specialist at Clermont Elementary; Bill Lewis, English teacher at Solanco High School; Jennifer Pasko, English teacher at Solanco High School; Marj Hall-Petkosh, reading specialist and Title I coordinator; Brenda Roark, first grade teacher at Bart-Colerain Elementary; Karen Baughman, multi-age (1st and 2nd grade) teacher at Clermont Elementary; Stacy Kline, lead business teacher at Solanco High School; Becky McClure, 3rd grade teacher at Bart-Colerain Elementary; Bret Miller, lead science teacher at Solanco High School; Tom Stauffer, Solanco School District Technology Integration Specialist; Barbara Walker, reading specialist at Quarryville Elementary; Judy Argue, 2nd grade teacher at Bart-Colerain Elementary; Jane Eddy, lead guidance counselor at Solanco High School; Sandra Haines, reading specialist at Providence Elementary; Connie Herr, lead math teacher at Solanco High School; Barbara (Wagner) Miller, 4th grade teacher at Providence Elementary; Jane Ausel, kindergarten at Bart-Colerain Elementary School; Al Freas, 7th grade math extension teacher at George A. Smith Middle School; Steve McTaggart, social studies teacher at Solanco High School; Linda Whiting, special education teacher at Swift Middle School,  Dawn Campbell, 5th grade teacher at Providence Elementary; Mary Pat Koller, 3rd grade teacher at Clermont Elementary School; Jennifer McDowell, math teacher at George A. Smith Middle School;. Jessica Prokay, English teacher at Solanco High School; Megan Carson, Providence Elementary School first grade teacher; Stephanie Jones, Solanco High School earth and space science teacher; Tony Mendez, Solanco High school technology education teacher; Brenda Lloyd, Solanco High School math teacher; Jennifer Pearson, Swift Middle School counselor Cynthia Wasilis, Smith and Swift middle schools librarian; Melinda Daubert, reading specialist at Clermont Elementary School; Susan Fitzgerald, reading specialist at Quarryville Elementary School; Carey Kalupson: Lead agriculture teacher at Solanco High School.


Category: Featured Stories, High School News, Middle School News

About the Author ()

Keith Kaufman is the Director of Community Relations for Solanco School District. 786-5617.

Comments are closed.